Leaving a Mark

Posted on Oct 22, 2018 in Blog
Leaving a Mark

Sometimes things take a long time to germinate. This pieces are about that process. In May 2017, I was talking with my friend Divyam and we wanted to explore using an earth tone palette since neither of us where particularly drawn to brown. I broke out all my siennas and umbers. She and I had […]

I finished the 100 Day Project

Posted on Jul 12, 2018 in Blog
I finished the 100 Day Project

I did it! I did it! I finished The 100 Day Project! It was amazing and I loved what I accomplished these past 100 days! I raised money for charity! Yay!! $280 is going to an LGBT youth services program in Alabama. The Shoals Diversity Center has a support and community building program for LGBT […]

Weekly Recap: June 18-24, 2018

Posted on Jun 25, 2018 in Blog
Weekly Recap: June 18-24, 2018

Monday, June 18 77/100: Pink Mushroom. Tuesday, June 19 78/100: Eat. This is my in person Tuesday night craft group. We eat, laugh, work, and enjoy each other. Wednesday, June 20 79/100: Hope. Thursday, June 21 80/100: Wobbly Flower. Friday, June 22 81/100: Crystal Flower. Saturday, June 23 82/100: Love. Thinking about how we tell […]

Weekly Recap: May 21-27, 2018

Posted on May 30, 2018 in Blog
Weekly Recap: May 21-27, 2018

This week is made up entirely of my 100 Day Project. I’ve had house guests coming and going so this is the total of my art this week. Monday, May 21 Tuesday, May 22 Wednesday, May 23 Thursday, May 24 Friday, May 25 Saturday, May 26 Sunday, May 27

Weekly Recap: April 30-May 6, 2018

Posted on May 7, 2018 in Blog
Weekly Recap: April 30-May 6, 2018

Monday, April 30 28/100: Lotus. Tuesday, May 1 29/100: Grid System. Manta Ray of Sunshine shaw for Lindsey. Wednesday, May 2 30/100: Pink Flower. Thursday, May 3 31/100: All That Glitters. Working on Adore. Friday, May 4 32/100: Keep This. Saturday, May 5 33/100: Georgia. Making backgrounds for the upcoming week. Sunday, May 6 34/100: […]

My 2018 #The100DayProject

Posted on Apr 17, 2018 in Blog
My 2018 #The100DayProject

The app Instagram is it’s own universe. Because it’s visual in nature, there are challenges and projects galore specifically geared to artists and makers of all kinds. The #The100DayProject is one such event. Some Backstory Before last year, I was in my fourth year of doing 365 day projects so I wasn’t really interested in […]

Weekly Recap: April 2-8, 2018

Posted on Apr 9, 2018 in Blog
Weekly Recap: April 2-8, 2018

Monday, April 2 Trying to get back in the swing of things after that epic trip!! Tuesday, April 3 Started the #the100DayProject today with #100DaysOfPinkAndYellow. This is Day 1/100: Present. And did some spray painting in my new GIANT book. Wednesday, April 4 2/100: Queen Guenever. My first finished spread for Season of Play for […]

Weekly Recap: March 5-11, 2018

Posted on Mar 12, 2018 in Blog
Weekly Recap: March 5-11, 2018

This month I’ve been participating in March Meet the Maker on Instagram. So this week, I’ve had several days where those posts were what I finished for the day. I’ve also had several days of taking care of things outside the house this week so I’ve not had studio time like I normal do. Monday, […]

Weekly Recap: October 16-22, 2017

Posted on Oct 23, 2017 in Blog

Monday, October 16 Working in Renée’s new art shed today. She’s on the left and I worked on the one on the right. Tuesday, October 17 I painted for a while and hated it and then painted over it. So then I stopped because I was disgusted with the giant goof. Wednesday, October 18 Added […]

Weekly Recap: September 18-24, 2017

Posted on Sep 25, 2017 in Blog

Monday, September 18 Continuing work on a spread I started on Sunday. I painted it black and then doodled all over it. Tuesday, September 19 Thinking about stitching up a new book using Vanessa’s excellent bookbinding class. Wednesday, September 20 Putting a few coats of varnish on these pieces. Thursday, September 21 My longstitch bound […]

Weekly Recap: August 14-20, 2017

Posted on Aug 21, 2017 in Blog

Monday, August 14 Took a recovery day after the workshop. Tuesday, August 15 Thinking about the things I learned in the workshop I attended. Trying to line up what I learned with how I work. Wednesday, August 16 One of the things I learned from the workshop is I often work analogous color palettes. It […]

Weekly Recap: June 5-11, 2017

Posted on Jun 12, 2017 in Blog

Monday, June 5 This summer is all about the travel. I was out and about today. Tuesday, June 6 Back home in the studio and excited to be in the Season of Color for Get Messy! Wednesday, June 7 I loved this moody pic in my journal and didn’t want to cover over it much. […]

Weekly Recap: April 24-30, 2017

Posted on May 1, 2017 in Blog

Monday, April 24, 2017 Finishing up a memory piece for a friend. Read about it here. Tuesday, April 25, 2017 Working in my season of contrast journal and thinking about paper today. Wednesday-Friday, April 26-28, 2017 I got to go to an excellent Women’s Leadership Conference in Knoxville, TN these days so no studio time. […]

Weekly Recap: April 3-9, 2017

Posted on Apr 10, 2017 in Blog

Monday, April 3, 2017 My first page for Season of Contrast for Get Messy! Check out the Season of Contrast Hashtag on Instagram. Tuesday, April 4, 2017 I am beginning the #100dayproject on Instagram today with #100DaysOfArtShowPrep. I’m hoping that it will get me going on my work for my show. Wednesday, April 5, 2017 […]

Weekly Recap: March 20-26, 2017

Posted on Mar 27, 2017 in Blog

Monday, March 20, 2017 One of my coworkers on the Get Messy Creative Team, Sasha, had a tiny journal tutorial on her blog this week. I decided to give it a try! I started with a piece of vellum because why would I do anything the easy way? Tuesday, March 21, 2017 I made a […]