My 2018 #The100DayProject

Posted on Apr 17, 2018 in Blog
My 2018 #The100DayProject

The app Instagram is it’s own universe. Because it’s visual in nature, there are challenges and projects galore specifically geared to artists and makers of all kinds. The #The100DayProject is one such event. Some Backstory Before last year, I was in my fourth year of doing 365 day projects so I wasn’t really interested in […]

2017 Goals Recap

Posted on Dec 28, 2017 in Blog
2017 Goals Recap

Ahh, yes, the recap of the year that has past. It’s been one of the most amazing years for me artistically and professionally. I’m proud of the work I’ve done this year and thrilled at the opportunities that have come along. Here’s the original post if you need a refresher. I wanted to make cool […]

Weekly Recap: October 23-29, 2017

Posted on Oct 30, 2017 in Blog
Weekly Recap: October 23-29, 2017

This week! This week is the week I checked off a long-term, lifetime achievement bucket list item. It was an amazing week. I tried to savor every moment of it and write some of it down. I am so thankful for what the week was and how much fun I had and all the people […]

Working in a Series

Posted on Oct 27, 2017 in Blog
Working in a Series

A few weeks ago I ran a giveaway on instagram. The giveaway entry fee was for people to tell me things they’d love to learn from me. I’ll admit it was a sneaky way for me to gather ideas to blog about. One of the things someone asked about was about working in series and […]

Hanging the Pieces of My Show

Posted on Oct 24, 2017 in Blog
Hanging the Pieces of My Show

Content Warning: This post deals with sexual assault. Skip it if you need to. On Monday, October 23, 2017, my mom and I rolled all 21 pieces of my show into Lowe Mill wrapped up in towels. It was overcast, and gusty, and misting slightly. I guess the weather was giving me well wishes to […]

Weekly Recap: October 9-15, 2017

Posted on Oct 16, 2017 in Blog
Weekly Recap: October 9-15, 2017

Monday, October 9 Working in my Season of Connections journal. Tuesday, October 10 I got new stencils which means breaking them in with spray paint! Wednesday, October 11 All those lines. All those connections. Thursday, October 12 Postcards! Friday, October 13 Connections has a hold on me this week. Thinking about a lot of different […]

Thoughts on Conversational Sexism

Posted on Oct 12, 2017 in Blog
Thoughts on Conversational Sexism

I talked about my upcoming show back in April and and then again in May with a photo update. In the April post, I dug into how this project got started and showed both the prototypes I worked on and the beginnings of what I have now. So if you want to read the initial […]

Weekly Recap: September 18-24, 2017

Posted on Sep 25, 2017 in Blog

Monday, September 18 Continuing work on a spread I started on Sunday. I painted it black and then doodled all over it. Tuesday, September 19 Thinking about stitching up a new book using Vanessa’s excellent bookbinding class. Wednesday, September 20 Putting a few coats of varnish on these pieces. Thursday, September 21 My longstitch bound […]

Weekly Recap: September 11-17, 2017

Posted on Sep 18, 2017 in Blog

I had a big week this week! I’m trying something a little different on Instagram in that I’m trying to post both in the mornings and in the afternoons. Seeing if that ups my reach at all. So I’ve been taking more photos to post. Monday, September 11 I made a flip through video of […]

Weekly Recap: August 21-27, 2017

Posted on Aug 28, 2017 in Blog

Monday, August 21 “I just said that.” Piece 10 of 18 from my show, Conversational Sexism. Tuesday, August 22 “What were you wearing?” Piece 15 of 18 from my show, Conversational Sexism. Wednesday, August 23 Giving them a coat of varnish. Thursday, August 24 Doing prep work for filming. Friday, August 25 Just playing with […]

July 10-16, 2017

Posted on Jul 17, 2017 in Blog

Monday, July 10 Printing directly in my art journal with my gelli plate and it caused the old book page that’s on the left to tear apart. I made some repairs and kept going. Tuesday, July 11 I love black. It’s often my goto color. Really enjoyed this page based on Karen Gaunt’s free class […]

Weekly Recap: June 12-18, 2017

Posted on Jun 19, 2017 in Blog

Monday, June 12 Postcards and a tiny journal cover. Tuesday, June 13 I made a flip page so I could start from the other side of this journal. Wednesday, June 14 Sealing so I can keep working over the top of previously water soluble media. Thursday, June 15 Adding depth with matte medium. Friday, June […]

Weekly Recap: May 29-June 4, 2017

Posted on Jun 5, 2017 in Blog

Monday, May 29, 2017 I made a tiny book!! Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Working on my show!! Wednesday, May 31, 2017 Total studio chaos from working on the show!! Thursday, June 1, 2017 The Get Messy Season of Color kickoff!! Friday, June 2, 2017 I heard this quote on a podcast I listened to and […]

Weekly Recap: May 22-28, 2017

Posted on May 29, 2017 in Blog

Monday, May 22, 2017 I am loving my spray paint phase! I love the texture and dimension I get from spray paint. Tuesday, May 23, 2017 I peeled some things off of the page and added back some place ink. I did some scratching where the spray paint was on slick surfaces. It’s more distressed […]

Weekly Recap: May 8-14, 2017

Posted on May 15, 2017 in Blog

Monday, May 8, 2017 #getmessyhangout on a Monday afternoon! The Best!! Tuesday, May 9, 2017 What I made during the hangout. Wednesday, May 10, 2017 Working on the show. Thursday, May 11, 2017 I’ll probably have to buy stock in Golden before this project is finished. Friday, May 12, 2017 I had a dream last […]

Load More