Leaving a Mark

Posted on Oct 22, 2018 in blog
Leaving a Mark

Sometimes things take a long time to germinate. This pieces are about that process. In May 2017, I was talking with my friend Divyam and we wanted to explore using an earth tone palette since neither of us where particularly drawn to brown. I broke out all my siennas and umbers. She and I had […]

Well that was a weird month

Posted on Sep 5, 2018 in blog
Well that was a weird month

I realized sort of all at once this past month that my whole creative life wasn’t working for me anymore. I’ve been hustling for so long that I couldn’t see that I’d drifted far, far off course. After an anxious couple of weeks, I realized I needed desperately to reprioritize and cut some things from […]

Weekly Recap: August 6-12, 2018

Posted on Aug 15, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: August 6-12, 2018

Monday, August 6 A couple of inchies! Tuesday, August 7 Working in a traveling journal today. Finished this shawl I’ve been working on for 3 months. Wednesday, August 8 Trying a new thing! Thursday, August 9 My first spread for Season of Seasons at Get Messy. Friday, August 10 Rest day! Saturday, August 11 A […]

Weekly Recap: July 30-August 5, 2018

Posted on Aug 6, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: July 30-August 5, 2018

Monday, July 30 Started a two week inchie challenge with my friend Debbie. Tuesday, July 31 These inchies are so fun!! Next in the series! Wednesday, August 1 People keep telling me this one looks like an abstract whale. I don’t have a problem with that. Thursday, August 2 Second in the series done. Those […]

Weekly Recap: July 23-29, 2018

Posted on Aug 6, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: July 23-29, 2018

Monday, July 23 I took the pieces of my 100 Day project and turned it into a book! Tuesday, July 24 Rest Day. Wednesday, July 25 Working on the Season of Season videos for Get Messy! One of four yarn projects I’m trying to finish! Thursday, July 26 No work today! Friday, July 27 Working […]

Weekly Recap: July 16-22, 2018.

Posted on Jul 26, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: July 16-22, 2018.

This week was big adventure week! Loved it all!! Drove to Asheville, NC to meet up with Caylee and Lauren to do the Get Messy 2018 Summit which is where we plan for next year at Get Messy. Lauren’s mom, Jessica, and Sarah showed up for the weekend so we had a lovely art retreat […]

Weekly Recap: July 9-15, 2018

Posted on Jul 15, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: July 9-15, 2018

Monday, July 9 98/100: Love Stamps. Tuesday, July 10 99/100: The Seahorse. I made some journals. The red one is for me for a class I’m starting and the purple one is for a friend. Wednesday, July 11 100/100: Hearts. Wednesday marked the end of the 100 Day Project which I celebrated by donating $280 […]

There are Jerks on the Internet, Film at Eleven

Posted on Jul 14, 2018 in blog
There are Jerks on the Internet, Film at Eleven

Ok, I’m gonna rant here for just one hot minute. Mostly just to remind myself of this moment in time. This morning I got up to a dude on Instagram posting on one of my pics: “Craftsmanship at work here.” It was on a word post I had made to advertise the end of my […]

I finished the 100 Day Project

Posted on Jul 12, 2018 in blog
I finished the 100 Day Project

I did it! I did it! I finished The 100 Day Project! It was amazing and I loved what I accomplished these past 100 days! I raised money for charity! Yay!! $280 is going to an LGBT youth services program in Alabama. The Shoals Diversity Center has a support and community building program for LGBT […]

Weekly Recap: July 2-8, 2018

Posted on Jul 8, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: July 2-8, 2018

Monday, July 2 91/100: Gold Coin. Tuesday, July 3 92/100: Memory. Wednesday, July 4 93/100: Algae #5. Thursday, July 5 94/100: So Gold. Friday, July 6 95/100: Two Waves. Saturday, July 7 96/100: The River. Sunday, July 8 97/100: Gray Leaves.

Weekly Recap: June 25-July 1, 2018

Posted on Jul 2, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: June 25-July 1, 2018

Monday, June 25 84/100: A magic horse will take you far. Tuesday, June 26 85/100: Peace. A spread in a traveling journal. Wednesday, June 27 86/100: Circle up. I made a peace shrine! I’m in the Fall 2018 issue of Art Journaling magazine. Thursday, June 28 My last batch of 100 Day Project cards!! 87/100: […]

Trusting Myself as an Artist

Posted on Jun 28, 2018 in blog
Trusting Myself as an Artist

One of my new favorite things that I get to do at Get Messy is interview our creative team. Two weeks ago I did my second interview this year with Divyam Chaya Bernstein who is a 2018 Mess Maker for Get Messy. I’ve know Divsy, as she’s called on Instagram, for about two years and […]

Weekly Recap: June 18-24, 2018

Posted on Jun 25, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: June 18-24, 2018

Monday, June 18 77/100: Pink Mushroom. Tuesday, June 19 78/100: Eat. This is my in person Tuesday night craft group. We eat, laugh, work, and enjoy each other. Wednesday, June 20 79/100: Hope. Thursday, June 21 80/100: Wobbly Flower. Friday, June 22 81/100: Crystal Flower. Saturday, June 23 82/100: Love. Thinking about how we tell […]

Brayer-Off!

Posted on Jun 21, 2018 in blog
Brayer-Off!

My friend Julia and I got into a discussion a week or so ago about brayers and how much they affect the quality of the prints you get from your gelli plate. In this video she and I explore it!

Weekly Recap: June 11-17, 2018

Posted on Jun 18, 2018 in blog
Weekly Recap: June 11-17, 2018

Monday, June 11 70/100: Weekend Picnic. Tuesday, June 12 71/100: Wallpaper Brain. Wednesday, June 13 72/100: The Yellow Thing. Thursday, June 14 73/100: The Green Among the Pink. Thinking about our gun problem in this country. Lyrics are “This is America” by Donald Glover and “Bullet the Blue Sky” by U2. Friday, June 15 74/100: […]

Load More